What is an ethernet drive

NAS as a drive in Windows Explorer

Ines Walke-Chomjakov

NAS servers make working with multiple PCs much more convenient - but only if you can quickly find the NAS in Explorer. How to create it as a drive.

EnlargeWith "Connect network drive ..." you set up the NAS folders as drives - including drive letters in Windows Explorer.

You have acquired a network hard drive (a NAS) that serves as a central storage location for documents, photos and videos. Now it should be easy to call up the data warehouse, for example to issue approvals or set up directories. To do this, set it up as a network drive on the client PC in Windows Explorer.

That's how it's done: The NAS storage is connected to the router. This is why you can find it in Windows Explorer under “Network”. It can also appear several times: If, for example, a DLNA server (Digital Living Network Alliance) is integrated, it is also listed under "Multimedia". To make the NAS easier to use - for example, to assign shares - it can be set up as a network drive. Usually, various folders are already predefined on devices for home use - for example under the names "Family" or "Admin". They can be integrated individually in Windows Explorer. Select the desired folder and right-click on "Map network drive ...". In the next window, assign a drive letter - for example Y: - and check the box next to "Reconnect at login". Windows will automatically set up the share every time it starts. If you click on “Done”, the drive with the corresponding letter will appear on the left under “Computer”.

Most of the time, you need to log in to access the drive. Enter your username and password. If you save the access data immediately, they will not be requested again later. If it still happens that you cannot access it, this may be due to the access rights under Windows. You can secure full access to the drive by right-clicking on "Properties" and defining groups and user names including access rights under "Security". Make sure that your computer is listed under user name and check the box next to "Full access".